Home | Contact                                                  Phone +386 (0) 59 926 721, +386 (0) 51 65 52 54

~ Reviews ~

Newest comments from our guests you can always find here:

 

Below we presented our favourite ones :)

 

"Fantastic hostel. Staff were great. The dorm rooms and beds are well designed and large. Location is slightly out of town, however only a 15 mins walk to the centre and it is situated right next to the beautiful Trivoli Park. The breakfast is average, but for it to be included given the price, shows why this hostel is excellent value for money."
England, All Male Group, 25-30, (November, 2016)

"Excellent hostel, friendly staff who were very helpful and went the extra mile to help! I will be back one day!"
England, Female, 25-30, (November, 2016)

"Cosy, central and simply amazing place! Me and my friends stayed in this hostel for 3 days and had simply amazing time. We stayed in quadruple Room with bathroom door next to the room. Beds are very comfortable, we didn't hear any noise from outside, very good isolation. Everything is super clean. House itself is sooo beautiful every floor has its own charm. Breakfast was very good. Toast with Cream cheese, jam, milk, cornflakes, tea, coffee and fruit. But the absolute best in this place is staff. All of them are so knowlageble, super kind, sweet and always there for you whatever you need. This place is simply amazing and we had such good time. Deff reccomendable!"
Cuba, Male, (November, 2016)

"Great place! Visited place with friends. I strongly recommend this place. Great staff, central location,clean and spacious rooms. Nice atmosphere with nice common areas. We got awsome tips where to go and what to visit. Close to everything."
Cuba, Male, (November, 2016)

"Amazing stay! We had a great time in Vila Veselova. Starting with location in a very cool, centrally located neighborhood. Staff were super friendly and catered for all our needs. Special thanks to Urska, she was awesome ? Ps: keep that guitar ready for my next visit ;)"
Croatia, Male, (November, 2016)

"Affordable, cozy and friendly place to stay in Ljubljana! Not the hostel's fault, but there was a group of people having a loud discussion late at night, which made it difficult to sleep. Overall this is a good place and I would stay here again. My second time here and it's still great! The hostel staff is great. The house is nice. It's a quick walk to the center. There is a big space, so it's not too crowded"
USA, Male, (October, 2016)

"Loved this hostel! It really is a home away from home. The lady who works evenings/nights is absolutely wonderful. I ended up extending my stay. The kitchen makes for a great place to meet people, and the beds are very very comfortable! Don't miss this place, it was excellent. Highly recommend for solo travellers. PROTIP: Taxi from the train/bus station was less than 3 Euros, no haggling or scams, he used the meter straightaway."
Canada, Female, 25-30 (September, 2015)

"It was clean and homely. The staff were amazing and super helpful as well. Loved how personal it was in how they treated each of their visitors. They also organised a trip for me down to the coast and a few other places which would have been impossible to cover in a day without a car. Thanks a lot for a wonderful trip!"
Singapore, Male, 18-24 (September, 2015)

"Amazing hostel with an excellent location. Best staff out of any hostel we have stayed at so far. An excellent change from the impatient staff in Venice. I highly recommend staying at this hostel. It was quiet. Had comfortable beds. Breakfast included. Beer in a vending machine. And did I mention the staff? AMAZING!"
Ireland, Couple (September, 2015)

"Veselova is an awesome wee spot was recommended by loads of people. Has everything you need, despite a little (a lot, like Thor gargling hammers) snoring I still had the best nights sleep yet! Good breakfast in the morning and a good laundry service which I sorely needed. Good location, nothing is far in Ljubljana and I really enjoyed the banter with reception. She does need to brush up on her nation of the UK though. ;o)"
(September, 2015)

"Really nice hostel, a bit on the "outskirts" of town but still not an issue and about 10 minute stroll to city centre. Staff were brilliant, really friendly and helpful. Free brekky is also nice. Kitchen, showers and wifi are good. Some people checking in through the night and making bed/closed reception after 10 is only downside. The staff made the place awesome."
France, Couple (September, 2015)

"The hostel is located in a nice vila with a nice terasse and several balkonies. The owner is very nice and tells you so much about what to do and see in Ljubljana that it is impossible to remeber everything. My room had a comfortable atmosphere with the best bunk beds I ever had in a hostel. The lockers are huge enough for all your luggage. Everything is very clean.The living room is very cosy and makes it easy to connect with other guests. The wifi is very good. Ljubljana was planned as just an overnight stay on my way to Budapest, but turned out to be one of my highlights of the tour."
(August, 2015)

"Staff are very welcoming and knowledgeable. I was staying in another hostel and I'm glad I made the move to this hostel. 100% recommend staying here, only a 10 min skate to the train station ;) "
Switzerland, Male, 18-24 (August, 2015)

"One of the best hostel I stayed in during my trip! Staff is very friendly, rooms are clean, the hostel is very well located! And if you leave early in the morning, they'll prepare the breakfast and write a nice note for you."
New Zealand, Male, 25-30 (August, 2015)

"Brilliant hostel to chill out at for a couple days. The staff are friendly and they know their stuff."
Australia, Male, 18-24 (June, 2015)

"One of the best hostel's I've ever stayed in! Breakfast was great, community was great, the most helpful staff members I've ever interacted with and it hardly costed a thing. I would come back here in a heartbeat. And hopefully they'll open up more hostels around Europe as well. Truly a great place to stay. Couldn't recommend a better one. "
USA, Male, 18-24 (May, 2015)

Superb hostel, ideally located in the City Center. You can/should park your car nearby and roam around on foot, since everything is so Close. The hostel itself was very clean. Freshly laundered blankets, Sheets. The staff was very welcoming and helped us a lot with planning our travel in Llubljana. Maps and stuff. The breakfast served is also good enough. Due to our time constraints, we had to leave at 6 AM, and breakfast is usually laid down at 8 AM. However, they made sure that some breakfast was served on the table at 6 AM and that we did not leave hungry. The staff was commendable. Very friendly and hardworking."
(April, 2015)

"The place is located around the city centre and has perfect access to all things happening around the city. Secure and safe because situated besides the European parliament houses. Perfect location. The people were very warm friendly and helpful. Excellent service. Since located near the centre, there are a lot of opportunities regarding the choice of restaurants and nightlife. There is a special PUBCRAWL nightlife activity which I strongly recommend. Overall a great place to stay when you are in the capital which is excellent in service, cleanliness is good and overall atmosphere in the hotel is superb."
(April, 2015)

"This is one of those hostels you love and want to go back to when re-visiting a city. Rooms aren´t crowded, beds aren´t squeaky, bathroom is clean, lockers are attached to beds and provided with key, there is parking available and breakfast included! what else could you ask for? Staff is the best too!"
(March, 2015)

"Ljubljana is a small and very well connected city, so the slightly off-center position is not a problem because even in a 10-minutes walk you can reach the center. The hostel is clean, cozy and quiet, the rooms are spacious and the staff is very friendly; overall the atmosphere is very pleasant."
(January, 2015)

"Firstly Ljubianja and Slovenia are well worth a visit for the beautiful countryside and people. There is a lot to see a do and as it is small you can base yourself in the city and do day trips to the different areas. The hostel is great a short distance from the town centre and in a nice neighbourhood with a short walk to the beautiful Tivoli Park. The hostel is situated in an old Vila house which gives it a lot of character and charm. You are warmly greeted by the receptionists . I got to meet them all and they are all so kind . I have to mention Tjasa who spent a lot of time talking with me and helped me with things to see and do. The rooms are large and spacious with great beds. I will return to this hostel and would definitely recommend it. "
(November, 2014)

"Vila Veselova is an excellent choice! Dont hesitate to stay here! Its a lovely old house thats been converted to a hostel. My 8-bed dorm was fantastic. Super comfy and convenient with built in locker under the bed. I think the beds could use slightly thicker blankets, but wasnt a big deal as there are many extra fleece blankets available :) There is a large dining room/sitting area by reception where there is free breakfast and you can sit and get to know other guests. At first I didnt think there were enough showers, but it didnt seem to be a problem. The staff members we met during our 3 day stay were all incredible! I especially loved joking around with Tjana! She is exceptional. Everyone really made us feel welcome and were super helpful! The atmosphere in the hostel as a whole was really nice and chilled out. I wouldnt hesitate to recommend this place to anyone. You should stay here!"
(October, 2014)

"This hostel is a gem! It's hard to say which is better the clean comfortable beds or the great staff. I think the staff was amazing: each person had a great personality that made us want to keep talking to them all day long. They were all so sweet. The beds were comfortable and had a good set up for storing your stuff. With convenient plugs lamps and storage cubbies. Also an added bonus for couples is the top bunks can convert to a double so you can snuggle :) The location is about 10 min from the bus station and 7 min from the heart of old town. Great! Breakfast is free, but basic. The coffee is free and fantastic! Only downside is the kitchen has two hot plates that don't get too hot... Expect long cooking times. "
(October, 2014)

"I came to Ljubljana with no expectations, of the city nor of the hostel. Both turned out to be completely amazing! The hostel is clean and well located in a quiet, stylish area of the city within easy walking distance of the centre. Comfy beds with individual electricity sockets and lights and big secure lockers for your stuff. Free breakfast, which is not spectacular but exactly what you need to start your day (fruit, toast, cereals, tea/coffee/juice). The best thing about any hostel is of course the people and again full marks for the guys at Vila Veselova. Mateja and Matevž were super friendly and helpful and made me feel really comfortable there."
(May, 2014)

"Hostel with heart and passion."

"Having traveled around the world, staying in uncountable hostels, B&B and hotels, I really think Vila Veselova stands out. You may not find the best facilities in this hostel, but the people working there will definitely make you feel this country and its culture. They are all passionate at their job as well as their country, definitely good people to have a drink with over all kinds of topic from politics and history to clubbing and drinking."...

"Also they offer tours to explore different parts of Slovenia at a very reasonable price. The tour isn't like some big-company-organized ones that makes you feel like being one of a customers in a big tour; rather you feel like having a local friend who shows you around in the country. Every single one tour has its uniqueness that makes you feel different sides of this country, a country way more than Bled and Bohinj and caves. Miha is one very knowledgable tour guide with passion at his work. He can almost tell you anything about this country with no hesitation." more...
Hong Kong, Male, 20-25 (March, 2013)

"Vila Veselova - where I will always remember having a wonderful stay there."

"After staying here for 3 nights, I'm convinced that this is the best hostel I've ever stayed in in my travels around Europe and here why's: its a very beautiful building built by a student of the famous Slovenian architect, Jože Plečnik. Unlike other modern hostels with funky modern themes (but not very comfortable beds from my experience), this hostel exudes an old time charm to it that makes it feel very homely and you, at ease. Second, it comes with a good and healthy breakfast (apple, yogurt, 3 different types of cereal, bread with assorted jams and butter, coffee and teas). For a budget traveler and a healthy eater, you'd be happy. Third, the beds! I slept in an 8 bed dorm and never in my life had I slept so comfortably in a dorm. It's spacious, the bunk beds DON'T SHAKE (like most dorms elsewhere), there is a reading light for you and a power socket (extremely convenient) and a drawer under your bed large enough to fit a lot of things including a big rucksack." more...
Malaysia, Female, 18-24 (June, 2013)

“Perfect hostel in a perfect town”

"Vila Veselova is a wonderful hostel few minutes away from the city center and from the train station. The area is really beautiful and secure. The hostel is charming with a wonderful staff. Good breakfast and free tea and coffee. Comfortable rooms and nice kitchens for the guests. Everything is kept clean and tidy.

They also offer tours organised by the lovely tour guide Miha, a guy really passionate about his country that makes you enjoy Slovenia even more.

Ljubljana is beautiful and this hostel is great!"
Sao Paulo, Female 25-34 (May, 2013)

"Top notch place, very clean and the staff were friendly and professional. No bar, but it's easy to meet people in the common area. Huge fan, would definitely recommend over the big corporate hostels in the area (which there are a number of)."
USA, Male, 18-24 (June 2013)

"A really nice Hostel just out of the center of Ljubljana, but well within walking distance of anything in Town. The staff are quite helpful, the facilities are good and there is a good sized common room which will help the atmosphere with the right group of people. I do recommend a trip to Lake Bled and Lake Bohinj (can do both in one day if you start early). Also found the trip to the Škocjan Caves quite good. Misha the Hostel sponsered Day tour guide was very informative and worth the money."
Australia, Male, 31-40 (May, 2013)

"Vila Veselova is a great place to stay. It's not far from Ljubljana centre and easy to access from the bus\train station. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable and the staff are very helpful."
Australia, Female, 31-40 (February, 2013)

"Great hostel! Its more like staying in a house than in a hostel. It is easy to meet new people and the staff is really friendly and helpful. The location is great: 10 minute walk from the city center. Rooms are big and the bed structures are really well designed : reading light, electric plug etc. Kitchen was clean and the breakfast was really good!!"
Canada, Male, 18-24 (February, 2013)

"Absolutely great! Keep up the good vibe!"
Bulgaria, Male, 31-40 (February, 2013)

"Its so cosy and the beds are great! You just want to hang around the hostel all day :)."
Female (June, 2013)

"Stayed here for 4 nights , very clean , helpful staff reasonable location."
Male (May, 2013)

"Tons of information about Ljubljana and the surrounding areas, the beds had little cubbies and secure lockers and everything was very clean. Also, I had to leave before breakfast and they put out breakfast early for me so I could eat!"
Female (February, 2013)

"Very endeering hostel, the rooms are modern but warm and it's very clean! Breakfast is good and the outside yard is amazing. Staff is great and the atmosphere has it's very own charm. One of the best and sweetest hostels we've ever been to, and would definetely go back! We'll actually miss the place and it's a pity we only had time to stay there for one night."
Female (September, 2012)

"Loved everything, the ladies at the reception are wonderful, they try in every possible way to make your stay perfect, it's really like your home away from home. I can't wait to get back to Ljubljana and definitely will choose the same accommodation. There is also a complimentary breakfast included in the price, that was really a nice surprise. have a good coffee on the really cute balcony, it's gonna make your day :)."
Romania, Female (June, 2013)

"I liked everithing! It's clean, it has comfortabel location, staff is very friendly and polite."
Rusia, Female (March, 2013)

"The kindness , always there when we need it."
France, Female (May, 2013)

More reviews on:


  • Info

    about us info

    This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

    Phone

    +386 59 92 67 21
    +386 51 65 52 54

    Address
    Veselova ulica 14
    SI-1000 Ljubljana
    Slovenija, EU

    Find us
     World’s Best Hostels

     

    Guests' reviews!

     


    Trips around Slovenia

    surroundings bled

    We organize trips around Slovenia! Adriatic coastline, Lake Bled and Bled Castle, Bohinj, Postojna caves, Škocjan caves, Maribor and many more. Click here for more information or write to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

     

    Slovenia Explorer was established in 2011 by Gregor Födransperg – Fedr, a writer and a photographer, and one of the most recognizable Slovenian travellers. He has been travelling the world for 20 years, and has spent half of that time organising and leading group tours all around the world. Whilst exploring the world and meeting countless travellers – both as colleagues and clients – and through working with local agencies and travel guides, he has amassed extensive experience, which he has channelled into helping his clients explore Slovenia.

     

    Ljubljana Pub Crawl 

    Pub Crawl

    Enjoy staying in Ljubljana? Have some fun on a Pub Crawl party tour. Read more...

     

  • From the Airport

    You can contact us and we will provide a good and cheap transfer form airport to our hostel (by shuttle or taxi). Otherwise you can book your shuttle at MNJ.

     

  •  

    Top Places Just Next To Us

     

          

                    

     

    CONTACT INFO:

    Mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

    Phone: +386 59 92 67 21
                +386 51 65 52 54
    Address: Veselova ulica 14, SI-1000 Ljubljana Slovenija

     

    Book your stay easily from the link below: 

    BOOKING